~ObSeSsEd~: February Edition

While teaching about the Gregorian calendar to my level 3 kindy students earlier this week, I utilized a cute poem from their textbook to aid them in remembering what months contained 30, 31, or 28/9 days.

“February has 28 days – that’s great!
But sometimes it has 29 and that’s fine.”

For some reason this poem, intended for seven year old ESL students, gave my 23 year old self some perspective about how truly fleeting February is (especially as a postgraduate, living without the amplified stress of midterms inevitably followed by the lazy lull of reading break).

Since I missed out on those solid two to three days of obsessing that other months offer, my list of obsessions for February is short and sweet, highlighting the best that Korean culture can offer, as well as an old and a new school television series.

Survivor
Icebreaker: During my formative years, I was positively crazed about competition-based reality television shows, particularly Survivor. I used to prepare full-on, colour-coded round robin circuits in my notepad, pitting my toys (who portrayed some of my favourite competitors from the show) against one another. I used to prepare fantasy seasons in that same notepad, where my favourites would return to battle it out in a tropical setting for a second time. I used to assign members of my class to survivors competing in a new season, and reward the ultimate winner with a pack of Skittles (if I recall, Stephanie Raison was the winner in this particular instance during Survivor: Pearl Islands). I even had a Survivor themed party for my 13th birthday, where my guests were forced to eat baby food in timed trials, and were quizzed on trivia that only I could have possibly known. I’m sure this just provides even more evidence to the fact that I am and always have been, a crazy, obsessive human being.

I’ve recently gotten back into the beloved series after discovering multiple full seasons on YouTube. In the past four weeks, I’ve zipped through five seasons of the show, truly rekindling an old love affair. I’m also not ashamed to announce that I’ll be following the newest (and 28th!) installment of the show, Survivor: Cagayan, which premieres today (!!!). The twist this season is Brains vs. Beauty vs. Brawn, and will take place in the Philippines for the fourth season in a row.

Sundubu jigae
A spicy stew made from tofu, assorted vegetables, and chili powder that tastes delicious, includes rice, AND only costs W4,000? As we say in Korea, “NAY!”

Looking
I know with certainty that I’m not the first person to describe Looking as “Girls for gay boys”, but I truly can’t think of a more apt comparison. Looking follows three male friends, Patrick, Agustin, and Dom, who all happen to be gay(!), living in San Francisco, and “looking” for something (it’s not always love, y’all). Sure, the characters of Looking are a little older than “the girls”, and perhaps possess slightly more life experience, but in the end they’re as self-involved, filterless, and cringe-worthy as Hannah, Marnie, Jessa, and Shosh.

Truthfully, I found the Pilot episode painfully slow and uneventful, but the subsequent five episodes have been relatable, funny, and honest, without skimping on the awkward and outlandish. I was a huge fan of the fifth episode (“Looking for the Future”) in particular, if only because it made reference to Friends and posited that Rachel was the top in the Rachel-Ross dynamic; truly #dead. I’m crossing my fingers that Looking doesn’t go the way of Girls and becomes totally unrelatable in its second season. Also, if any of you are curious, I’m a total Patrick.

“Let It Go”
It seems that I moved to the right country, because Koreans on the whole are just as obsessive as I am. Disney’s latest offering, Frozen, stars Idina Menzel (otherwise known as Maureen from Rent) as frigid Princess Elsa, who harbours great powers and evem greater intimacy issues (the character was loosely modelled after me).

While I haven’t heard much about the merits of the actual film, I have heard the lead song, “Let It Go“, literally everywhere I go. Walking by a phone store? Why not just blare it on repeat? Choosing to eat lunch with my youngest students in Star Class? Why not burst out into song with a group of five year olds? With regard to once hating the song and now being obsessed with it, I borrow a line from the song itself to justify my actions: “Couldn’t keep it in / heaven knows I tried”.

One thought on “~ObSeSsEd~: February Edition

Leave a comment