YoMoSoFlow Playlist

I hate November; I loathe it with every fibre of my being. Everything about it feels so gray and gloomy. November for me is sort of like the middle child between the eldest, October, with its colourful foliage and cool breezes, and the youngest, December, with its commanding white, snowy majesty. It seems to read “middle child inferiority complex” all over its sullen face. I actually already documented my disdain for November during my senior year of university for a Montreal-based online magazine, Leacock’s (read here), so you know that I am a true November abolitionist, in favour of striking it from the collective consciousness altogether.

However, much like the approach I employed two years ago, I am choosing to embrace this misunderstood, penultimate, Gloom of a month. Beyond establishing an actual blogging schedule and reading more, I have multiple projects and activities I’m working on during November.

Practicing our setu bandha sarvangasana or bridge pose in front of Gwangan Bridge

First, alongside Jess, I will be doing a 30 Day Yoga Challenge. Both of us purchased a 1 month YogaGlo subscription, a fantastic website that allows you to make selections based on style, level, duration, and even by yoga instructor. My goal is fifteen 30 minute flows and fifteen 60 minute flows for the month – almost a full day of yoga. I’m *so* excited to get my asana on!

Brittany Teacher examining my beautiful handiwork...

Brittany Teacher examining my beautiful handiwork…

Second, I’ve taken up the noble sport of knitting. I visited a yarn store in Gupo Market last weekend and bought some (admittedly weak) chenille fabric to make a scarf for the impending Busan winter winds. I’ve already managed to mess up my stitches and the scarf is riddled with holes and is generally imperfect, but I’m choosing to look at the holey mess as a metaphor for my life: a work in progress. Plus, it’s got this joint Slytherin-Ravenclaw sort of vibe, meaning I’ll wear it whenever I’m feeling ruthless or crafty and will pair it with a cloak or a wry smile.

Memories of the 2012 dad-stache in the beloved #Br0Mansion

Memories of the 2012 dad-stache in the beloved #Br0Mansion

Third, for the fourth year in a row, I will be sporting the always stylish dad-stache as a Movember participant. Now, in the past I’ve focused more on simply growing the moustache for two simple reasons: first, it brings awareness to a great cause; second, it allows me to explore the limitations of my hideous facial hair over the course of a month where the mockery I endure from others is more tolerable than in any other month. This year, I’m making an active effort to raise some funds (read: SPAMMING YOU ON EVERY SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNEL IMAGINABLE). If you’d like to donate to me as an individual, please check out my personal “Mo Space” here; otherwise, I really encourage you to donate to someone. Everyone knows someone affected by cancer so help spread the word, donate some chump change, or join the cause as a MoBro or MoSista!

Let's explore nature instead of our esophageal limits!

Let’s explore nature instead of our esophageal limits!

Finally, the girls and I are engaging in the hottest new trend: autumnal sobriety! #SOvemBER will be an entire month dedicated to 2.0L bottles of water, protein shakes, and good old-fashioned, non-spiked, virgin orange juice. We’re opting for breezy, power hikes around the Busan seawall and temple visits as opposed to inebriated stumbles around KSU and toilet visits. See you in December/the Philippines, alcohol.

So, in the spirit of (YO)ga, (MO)ustaches, and (SO)briety, I’ve compiled the YoMoSoFlow playlist. These six remixes will last for a 30 minute flow and are the perfect motivation to get your asana on. Namaste!

Reachin’ for those November goals, y’all

Playing House – Active Child ft. How To Dress Well (Houses Remix)

Sweet Talk – Jessie Ware (Saux Remix)

Lion – Four Tet (Jamie xx Remix)

Youth – Daughter (Alle Farben Remix)

Tennis Court – Lorde (Cymbol 303 Remix)

Ride – Lana Del Rey (Barretso Remix)

One thought on “YoMoSoFlow Playlist

Leave a comment